Congressional Heroes and Frauds

By David Swanson

Congress members know they were elected to end the war and that their constituents want them to follow through. Fifty-one Democrats recently voted against a war supplemental funding bill, knowing that the bill would easily pass. Now (because an IMF bailout scam opposed by all Republicans has been added to the bill) only about 40 Democrats need to vote No to block the war money. However, voting No when it could actually matter is very different from voting No for show only. We are about to see the original 51 split into heroes and frauds.

These are the 51: Baldwin, Capuano, Clarke, Cohen, Conyers, Cooper, Costello, Doggett, Edwards (MD), Ellison, Farr, Filner, Frank (MA), Grayson, Grijalva, Gutierrez, Honda, Inslee, Kagen, Kaptur, Kucinich, Lee (CA), Lewis (GA), Lofgren, Zoe, Markey (MA), Massa, Matsui, McDermott, McGovern, Michaud, Miller, George, Napolitano, Neal (MA), Oberstar, Payne, Pingree (ME), Polis (CO), Schakowsky, Serrano, Shea-Porter, Speier, Thompson (CA), Tierney, Towns, Tsongas, Velázquez, Waters, Watson, Weiner, Welch, Woolsey.

Some have committed to voting No, so we can tentatively move them to the Heroes category.

The rest, if they do not take a stand when it counts, may end up in the category of frauds. Even those who vote No may still end up on the list of frauds if the bill passes and they vote toward the end of the roll call. For example, Congresswoman Marcy Kaptur has told House Speaker Nancy Pelosi that she will vote No at the end of the voting if the bill has enough votes to pass.

Want to see who’s a hero and who’s a fraud? Go to:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.